TV The British Comedy Awards

Published on December 3rd, 2012 | by Christian Cawley


British Comedy Awards 2012 Nominees

The British Comedy AwardsIt’s that time of year again, where a bunch of comedy actors, writers and directors gather before the throne of Jonathan Ross and hope to win a special award that tells them how great they are.

That’s right – it’s the British Comedy Awards 2012, and there are some interesting names and shows included, from the double-nominated Olivia Colman (Twenty Twelve and Rev) to the long-awaited return of Steve Coogan as Alan Partridge! It’s also odd that Lee Mack doesn’t get a nomination for Not Going Out; the last series offered potentially the best episode of the entire show, although Mack does receive nominations for Would I Lie To You and King of Comedy.

Most notable are the presence of Sky shows. The best newcomer category is dominated by the satellite broadcaster, which is aiming to spend an immense £600m on homegrown productions by 2014. With shows like Alan Partridge: Welcome to Places in My Life and Spy they’re certainly heading in the right direction, if not bettering the BBC.

You can see the full list of nominees below;  the winners will be announced live on Channel 4 next week on Wednesday, 12th December.

Best New Comedy Programme

Alan Partridge: Welcome to Places in My Life
Cardinal Burns
Moone Boy

Best Comedy Entertainment Programme

Alan Carr Chatty Man
Celebrity Juice
Harry Hill’s TV Burp
The Graham Norton Show

Best Sketch Show

Cardinal Burns
Horrible Histories
Very Important People

Best Sitcom

The Thick of It
Twenty Twelve

Best Comedy Entertainment Personality

Charlie Brooker (Charlie Brooker’s 2011 Wipe)
Graham Norton (The Graham Norton Show)
Harry Hill (Harry Hill’s TV Burp)
Stephen Fry (QI)

Best TV Comedy Actor

Hugh Bonneville (Twenty Twelve)
Peter Capaldi (The Thick of It)
Steve Coogan (Alan Partridge: Welcome to the Places of My Life)
Tom Hollander (Rev)

Best TV Comedy Actress

Jessica Hynes (Twenty Twelve)
Olivia Colman (Rev)
Olivia Colman (Twenty Twelve)
Rebecca Front (The Thick of It)

Best Comedy Breakthrough Artist

David Rawle (Moone Boy)
Morgana Robinson (Very Important People)
Nina Conti (Make Me Happy: A Monkey’s Search for Enlightenment)
Seb Cardinal & Dustin Demri-Burns (Cardinal Burns)

Best Male Television Comic

David Mitchell (Would I Lie to You)
Harry Hill (Harry Hill’s TV Burp)
Lee Mack (Would I Lie to You)
Sean Lock (8 Out of 10 Cats)

Best Female Television Comic

Jo Brand (Have I Got News For You)
Nina Conti (Make Me Happy: A Monkey’s Search for Enlightenment)
Sarah Millican (The Sarah Millican Television Programme)
Sue Perkins (Have I Got News For You)

King and Queen of Comedy (public vote)

Alan Carr
David Mitchell
Graham Norton
Jack Whitehall
Lee Mack
Sarah Millican

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

About the Author

Christian Cawley is the editor and founder of Cult Britannia, part of the Atomic Media network of sites that also includes, the popular Doctor Who news site. While not watching British cult TV, Christian enjoys a good read and some classic rock music.

Comments are closed.

Back to Top ↑